Canada & United States Immigration Lawyers
US (216) 593-0180       Canada (902) 275-2889        Send Email
Allen and Hodgman | Second Trump travel ban blocked by U.S. Federal Court

Second Trump travel ban blocked by U.S. Federal Court

On March 15, 2017, U.S. District Judge Derrick K. Watson of the United States District Court for the District of Hawaii issued a nationwide restraining order blocking implementation of the second Trump travel ban. The travel ban would have gone into effect on March 16, 2017. As a result, the second travel ban is not in effect. The second travel ban blocks entry to the United States for citizens of six predominantly Muslim countries, including Iran, Syria, Lybia, Yemen, Sudan and Somalia. It also blocks all entry by refugees. Unlike the first travel ban, the new travel ban does not include Iraq. Also, the new travel ban explicitly excludes green card holders, dual citizens traveling on passports other than passports from the six banned countries, and current visa holders from the ban. The Hawaii court found that the Trump travel ban was intended to discriminate against the Muslim religion in violation of the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment of the Constitution of the United States.

Click here for a copy of the court order.